Full list of 2018’s UAE public holidays announced

Mark your calendars, here are the dates to remember this year

Full list of 2018’s UAE public holidays announced

We might have only just got back from a lovely festive period, but we’re already looking forward to 2018’s public holidays, and to find out when we can next have a good old knees up.

The projected dates for this year’s national holidays in the UAE have been officially announced. Exact dates of Islamic celebrations vary every year, depending on local sightings of the moon, so the below dates aren’t necessarily 100 percent confirmed.

That being said, we now have a great indication of when we can expect to have national celebrations for the year’s major events.

Ramadan is expected to commence in mid-May, provisionally marked for Wednesday May 16, with Eid Al-Fitr due to be celebrated on Thursday June 14. Eid Al-Adha, meanwhile, is expected to see a three-day celebration on Tuesday August 21, while Hijiri New Year’s Day (Islamic New Year’s Day) is likely to take place on Tuesday September 11.

As has been declared by His Highness Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the UAE, Friday November 30 will continue to be celebrated as Martyr’s Day, before UAE National Day takes place on Sunday December 2.

The full list of anticipated holidays is as follows, with dates subject to change.

Israa and Miaraj Night* - Friday 13 April
Ramadan expected to begin* - Wednesday 16 May
Eid Al-Fitr* – Thursday 14 June
Arafat Day* – Monday 20 August
Eid Al-Adha* – Tuesday 21 August
Hijiri New Year’s Day* – Tuesday 11 September
Prophet Muhammad’s (PBUH) Birthday* - Monday 19 November
Martyr’s Day – Friday 30 November
UAE National Day – Sunday 2 December

*Exact dates are subject to moon sighting and may differ from date given.

More from Things to do

Splash some colour into your weekend at these top Holi gigs

The Hollywood A-lister will join Loren Allred, Little Mix, Rita Ora and Liam Payne at Dubai Media City Amphitheatre

See how team Time Out got on with some -143°C chilling

Looking for a weekend away in the UAE? Find a hotel stay for less

Newsletters

Follow us