The Merry Widow coming to Dubai Opera

The comic operetta features soloists, chorus, a ballet ensemble and orchestra

ART & CULTURE, Theatre

It doesn’t sound like a barrel of laughs but The Merry Widow is one of the most popular comic operettas in the repertoire – according to Dubai Opera, anyway.

The musical piece is the work of Hungarian composer Franz Lehár and tells the story of a rich widow and her countrymen’s attempts to keep her money in the country by finding her the right husband.

Prepare for a whirlwind of parties and décor in a light-hearted production with lavish glamour, show-stopping costumes and amazing dancing.

The show includes the famous Vilja Song, the Pavilion Duet and Lippen Schweigen and promises to have you swaying in your seat.

And with soloists, chorus, ballet ensemble and orchestra of the Budapest Operetta and Musical Theatre, it’s definitely worth making a song and a dance about.

The production is sung in German, with English and Arabic subtitles and will be showing at the Opera from Thursday February 21 until Saturday February 23.

Tickets start from Dhs280 and you can take advantage of the early bird offer with 20 percent off all seating categories if you book before Sunday June 24.

If you just can’t wait until then to head to the theatre, there’s plenty more you see at the Opera in the meantime.

School of Rock (June 21-22) and the Greatest Show (June 22) both kick off this month and The Definitive Rat Pack will be crooning the socks off the Opera audience on Tuesday July 3 and Wednesday July 4.

We can’t wait.
From Dhs280. Thu Feb 21-Sat Feb 23, 8pm. Dubai Opera, Downtown Dubai, www.dubaiopera.com.

Eid is expected to fall on Tuesday August 21 and run until Friday August 24

The break will last from Monday August 20 until Wednesday August 22

The directive for the week-long break came from the UAE cabinet

The summer promotion lasts until Friday August 17

Face-painting and vouchers are part of kids’ line-up

The new nightclub also has a "hidden" room for its post-brunch bash

Newsletters

Follow us