Legendary movies at free open-air cinema club in JBR

Star Wars, Jaws, Die Hard and more on show at three-times weekly club

A brand-new open-air cinema is coming to Dubai Marina, and it’s going to be mega.

DXBExperiments Presents: The Cinema will be landing at Le Royal Méridien Beach Resort and Spa today (Monday October 30), and is going to be showing legendary movies and the greatest films from the last three decades on a regular basis until the end of the year.

The cinema club will be running on the hotel’s enormous lawns every Monday, Wednesday and Saturday until Boxing Day on Tuesday December 26. It’s entirely free, on a first come, first served basis, and the season will be split into three distinct themes. On Mondays expect classic movies from leading actors; Wednesday is all about cult movies, while Saturday is dedicated to the variety of amazing movies from around the world.

And by “legendary movies”, we mean seriously classic movies, like Wayne’s World, Easy Rider, Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope, Jaws and more.

If you want to get a seat at the cinema screening, you can head there early to secure your seat first (as we said, it’s first come, first serve), but if you reserve a table at either Maya, Geales, Zengo, Al Khaima or Rhodes Twenty10 for dinner, you’ll get a spot at the cinema reserved for you too.

There are also some special pre-theatre dinner menus being served up at selected restaurants, where you can get a three-course set menu for Dhs150 per person, or a two-course set menu for Dhs120 per person, each served with a specially created mixed drink.

Oh, and there are going to be Christmas specials too, featuring one of the best Christmas movies ever (sort of), Die Hard.

This films being shown across this season include:
Monday October 30 – The Graduate

Wednesday November 1 – Blade Runner

Saturday November 4 – The Motor Cycle Diaries

Monday November 6 – Marie Antoinette

Wednesday November 8 – Jaws

Saturday November 11 – Sholay

Monday November 13 – The Big Lebowski

Wednesday November 15 – Vertigo

Saturday November 18 – Baraka / Planet Earth

Monday November 20 – One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest

Wednesday November 22 – Withnail & I (1987)

Saturday November 25 – Spirited Away

Monday November 27 – Annie Hall

Wednesday November 29 – Easy Rider (1969)

Saturday December 2 – The Castle

Monday December 4 – Wayne’s World

Wednesday December 6 – Some Like It Hot

Saturday December 9 – Amélie

Monday December 11 – Rebel Without A Cause

Wednesday December 13 – Moulin Rouge

Saturday December 16 – Caramel

Monday December 18 – Casablanca

Wednesday December 20 – Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope

Saturday December 23 – Three Idiots

Sunday December 24 – It’s a Wonderful Life

Tuesday December 26 – Die Hard

Free. Mon Oct 30 – Tue Dec 26 8pm. Le Royal Méridien Beach Resort and Spa, JBR (04 399 5555).

Sponsored: Hendrick’s DXB Cucumber Day is fast approaching

This week’s episode of the Time Out Dubai podcast rolls up its sleeves

The al fresco theme park will be opening its gates with a new show

The critically acclaimed Shakespeare play will be performed in January

The beachside dining spot is celebrating international coffee day at its brand-new branch

Feeling the pinch? Fear not. We've got 16 weekend feasts for under Dhs300 for you

Newsletters

Follow us